Join us!

Twitter | facebook | Directions to Campus

Subscribe to our mailing list!


Walter Laqueur Conference

Conference in Honor of the 90th Birthday of Walter Laqueur

March 8, 2011

Video from the Conference

Introduction and First Panel

Second Panel

Conference Agenda

8:30 – 9:00 A.M: Registration and Continental Breakfast
9:00 – 9:15 A.M:
Introduction by Yoram Peri
Abraham S. and Jack Kay Chair in Israel Studies
Director of The Gildenhorn Institute for Israel Studies
Welcoming Remarks by Dean James Harris
Dean of the College of Arts and Humanities
University of Maryland

9:15 – 10:45 A.M: Panel One
Chair: Irena Lasota (Institute for Democracy in Eastern Europe)
Richard Breitman (American University): History of the Holocaust
Jeffrey Herf (University of Maryland): Study of Anti-Semitism
Stanley Payne (University of Wisconsin): History of Fascism
Michael Allen (NED): Cultural Wars

10:45 – 11:00 A.M: Break

11:00 – 12:30 P.M: Panel Two
Chair: Ellen Laipson (Stimson Center)
Jehuda Reinharz (Brandeis University): History of Zionism
Abraham Ascher (CUNY): Russian History and Soviet Studies
Bruce Hoffman (Georgetown University): Terrorism
Yoav Karny (Globes Daily): Laqueur as a Public Intellectual

12:30 – 12:45 P.M: Closing Remarks by Walter Laqueur, Distinguished Guest of Honor


4137 Susquehanna Hall | 301.405.9413 |

2011, The Joseph and Alma Gildenhorn Institute for Israel Studies